RBC Michelle Jackson Emerging Filmmaker Award

The RBC Michelle Jackson Emerging Filmmaker Award was founded in honour of St. John’s filmmaker and student mentor Michelle Jackson, who passed away suddenly in 2008.

This annual peer-juried award is open to emerging female directors who reside in Newfoundland and Labrador and who have not yet directed a feature film. Only directors may apply. The award provides services and cash towards the creation of a short film. With a total value of over $35,000, the prize includes mentorship, in-kind services and $16,000 cash towards the creation of a six-minute film. The final film premieres at the Closing Night Gala of the annual St. John’s International Women’s Film Festival.

Watch the premiere of Latonia Hartery’s The Death of Winter (2018 RBC MJ Award winner) on October 20, 2019 at our Closing Night Gala!

Screen Shot 2019-09-20 at 2.18.01 PM.png

Kerrin Rafuse is the winner of the 2019 RBC Michelle Jackson Emerging Filmmaker Award! Watch the premiere of her film La Véillée, a take on the traditional Franco-Newfoundland fairy story, at our 31st annual Festival in 2020.

Kerrin Rafuse is a Writer and Director from Halifax, Nova Scotia, currently living in St. John's. Her 2018 NIFCO Picture Start short, False Light, has screened at numerous Canadian festivals and was selected as part of Telefilm's Canada's Not Short On Talent program at Cannes in 2019. In 2014, she was a finalist in FIN's Script Development Program. Her 2011 short, Forty-Five & Five screened throughout Atlantic Canada and appeared on CBC's Download program.

Thank You to our Supporters

RBC Foundation, CBC Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's International Women's Film Festival, Newfoundland and Labrador Film Development Corporation, MO Entertainment, Panoramic Pictures, Sim International, Newfoundland Independent Filmmakers Co-Operative, Atlantic Studios Co-Operative, Page to Screen’s Ruth Atkinson, Casting by Maggie, Women in the Director’s Chair.

Award Alumni

2019 - Kerrin Rafuse, La Véillée
2018 -
Latonia Hartery, The Death of Winter
2017 - Kerry Gamberg, Crush
2016 - Emily Bridger, Waste It
2015 - Wanda Nolan, Crocuses
2014 - Jenina MacGillivray, The Tour
2013 - Tamara Segura, Before the War
2012 - Jacqueline Hynes, The Passenger
2011 - Ruth Lawrence, Two Square Feet
2010 - Allison White, Decolored